Living Room Inspiration

It’s now been a month since we moved in, and we are still struggling to get everything where it belongs. Our bedroom only finally has both Ikea wardrobes set up, our living room has completely bare walls, and we are now down to only three wine glasses in the kitchen (Sean broke one) and have yet to do a proper grocery shop (as in we’ve been eating too much take out).

The living room has become my creativity zone – I am very lax about what furniture we buy for the bedroom, but I feel the need to make the living room perfect. With the addition of a rug and a fully assembled coffee table and TV stand, the room is slowly starting to come together, but still has a long way to go.

At the moment, we are suffering from poor lighting, bare walls, and no bookshelf. In my mind, this all needs to change ASAP. Sean has pretty much put all of the decorating on me. He gives his opinion and suggestions every now and then, but I definitely feel 99% of the pressure to get our house in order. I generally lean toward very feminine designs, so it has been a challenge to pick out gender-neutral stuff (our bedroom could probably be classified as the most mild form of shabby chic possible). However, we both absolutely love traveling, so I thought that a global theme would be a great place to start for the living room.

I searched and searched for global or travel themed rooms and liked a lot of what I saw, but did not see anything that felt like it belonged in our house. I’m not huge on themes, but don’t might subtle hints of something, so instead of focusing on the theme, I settled on picking the rug first, and plan to build the room around that. We plan to tie travel into the room through lighting, our main piece of wall art, and the bookcase.

Lighting

Both the living room and our bedroom have chandeliers in them, and we do not really like either of them. While I do not want the chandelier in the bedroom to be too crazy, I feel like the one in the living room gives us a bit of room to play around. A lot of the global-themed items I saw have some sort of cultural undertones. I’m hoping to find a chandelier that is a bit weathered and uniquely carved, but not too crazy.

Wall Art

Sean absolutely loves maps. His room at home has old maps of London and the tube network. While we did not bring those with us, I thought it would be nice to get an antique framed map for the wall in the living room. He passes a map shop every day on the way to work and has sent me some of their items, but we are having trouble deciding what we really want. They have world maps, maps of London, photographs instead of maps, etc. All of the work is truly beautiful, but it is going to take a while for us to find the right one that just fits.

We are also planning on carrying the travel theme into our bathroom, where I am planning on ordering prints of our favorite cities from An Inspired Image.

prod1679025_av1

[Hoping I can channel Restoration Hardware and find the perfect map to look more like a piece of art than a piece of paper on the wall.]

a19648

[I also love the idea of hanging our personal travel prints (inspired by homedecorators.com), all colored in the same way, either on the other wall in the living room or in the hallway. Our only issue is the lack of decent photography…]

81uQmBaRM+L._SL1000_

[Sarah and Mike just got this map by National Geographic, and I am strongly considering copying them. They’re pinning all the places they have been and Sean and I both love that idea. We’ve gotten really good at copying the two of them!]

Bookcase

I could spend all day pinning pictures of beautifully styled desks and bookcases, and I am so eager to have a go at it myself. We are looking for a large desk to fill the area by the window of our bedroom, but are not desperate for one until the New Year, so the bookcase will be our starting point. To go along with our travel motif, I want to highlight all of the places Sean and I have been and hope to go with the use of the bookcase. While we have photo frames with photos of us traveling in them, we do not have a place to display the artwork and souvenirs we have brought back, or the travel books that we have. I’ve started collecting some coffee table-style travel books, but we also have the classics. My hope is to display our own little world on the bookcase through the use of photos, souvenirs, and books. It’ll probably take a couple of weeks of major stress for me to get it right, but I have faith that it’ll turn out wonderfully. The first thing we have to do, though, is actually buy the bookcase.

image

[Blogger Rumi Neely’s expertly styled bookcase]

apartment-34-office-shelfs

[I love the mix of books, accessories, and storage on this bookcase from Apartment 34]

pink-and-white-bookcases

[This bookcase from Centsational Girl has a personal touch that I love so much]

I am far from an interior designer, and frankly have no idea what I’m talking about. But I really do love getting this house together and am so looking forward to when it is complete (give me about a year, though).

One thought on “Living Room Inspiration

  1. Sarah Hogan November 2, 2015 / 6:38 pm

    I vote for the world map all the way!! hahahah. I’m a little biased though…

Leave a Reply

