Newly Grad

My most recent trip was home (well, one of my homes) for graduation. It was probably the best weekend I’ve had in awhile. I only went to one out of my two graduations, but it was so nice being with family and friends again that I didn’t even care about that. Or about the fact that I wasn’t even over my jet lag before flying back. This is so photo heavy because I absolutely loved all of the pictures we took that weekend – and the background provided for the perfect backdrop!

1

[We attempted – and failed at – the typical cap throwing picture]

I absolutely loved being on campus again, in my old apartment, with all of my favorite people. Sean joined me on Friday night (he came for only 48 hours – what a trooper!) which made the weekend even better!

Upon my arrival in Boston, I ordered Uburger for delivery and I am not even the least bit ashamed. Sara and I absolutely feasted on our burgers and fries and then I passed out….only to wake up at like 5 am.

Friday was graduation day (the one I actually went to, the one where I got to walk across the stage). I showed up and immediately ran into all of the people that I hadn’t seen in so long. I was even stopped at one point in line directly next to one of my closest friends who I hadn’t seen since December so we had a nice catch up.

4

3

2

[A cap, a gown, and some cords – I graduated! And the Hogan family was there for the occasion.]

After graduation, in typical Hogan family fashion, we headed to the bar (my very last trip to Sunset Cantina) and then to dinner in the North End. Rabias is a seafood/Italian restaurant and probably my favorite ever. They have this incredible white whine from New Zealand that I highly recommend. After dinner, it was more drinking at Battery Park Bar and then more along the water at Salvatore’s. That’s where Sean met me, suitcase and all! We went for the full night out and ended up at Lorettas in Fenway before grabbing Fenway Franks and walking home.

5

[Suitcase in tow at Salvator’s on the waterfront.]

On Saturday, we continued the trend with Harpoon Fest which was unfortunately a huge disappointment. To make up for it, we went to Legal Harborside for snacks and drinks before a Mexican dinner at Lolita. Except before dinner we went for starters at City Table….and by starters I mean essentially a full meal which means I didn’t eat my dinner. Good news is that Lolita leftovers make a great breakfast!

6

[The group after some afternoon drinks at Legal Harborside.]

Sunday was the day I decided to skip the all university graduation. It was an absolutely gorgeous day and I preferred walking around enjoying it over sitting on a field with thousands of other people. We headed back to City Table for brunch (fantastic mimosas!) where I was reunited with my best friend, Marisa. Then, we pranced along Newbury Street into the Public Gardens. My dad then suggested a beer garden, which are surprisingly lacking in Boston, so we just headed for a pub in Beacon Hill.

7

[My favorite part of Boston – The Public Gardens]
10

11

We raced back home for a quick graduation photo shoot before Sean headed back to the airport…and I followed a couple of hours later.

12

[Probably my favorite picture of us EVER!]
13

[Another cliche we attempted and failed (and we were left with very smelly stairs!)]

I arrived back to a rainy London, sat in two hours of traffic, and walked into work.  9-5 has me missing Boston (and the U.S.) like crazy!

Next stop: Florence

Leave a Reply

