Easter Weekend in Zermatt

I have one word to describe my weekend skiing in Switzerland: ouch. First my face, then my knee, and then just my dignity. It was a painful weekend, but I loved every single second of it.

Untitled picture

[The incredible view we got to wake up to every morning]

Sean’s family has a lovely condo in Täsch, right outside of Zermatt, with an incredible view (above!). We flew Swiss Air over to Geneva and then drove to Zermatt. It was dark and foggy and rainy on the drive there but the drive back to Geneva consisted of absolutely stunning views of Lake Geneva. I cannot wait to go back!

After a short night of sleep upon arrival, we started easy (not) with a snowshoe adventure. I started off by saying how I had been snowshoeing before (in Aspen) and how I absolutely loved it…and then I changed my mind when I struggled throughout the entire hike. The downhills were terrifying and the uphills were exhausting so it was a pretty intense “walk.” However, as always, the views at the top made it all worth it!

Untitled picture2

[Being what feels like “close” to the Matterhorn made the entire snowshoe adventure worth it]

 Untitled picture3

[Still in relatively good spirits at the end of our tour!]

Being the absolute idiot that I am, I forgot sunscreen. Which resulted in a severely burnt face and neck (we are talking tears, pain, and sun stroke) that left me in bed pretty much the entirety of the next day.

Untitled picture4

[Sunburned faces and ski helmets – the true mark of a weekend in the mountains]

That night, we went for fondue, which was by far the best part of the trip. It was just endless meat, bread, and cheese, with escargot as a starter. That night it was flurrying in town and it was such a beautiful and romantic scene that I didn’t even bother to take a picture.

When I actually got to the skiing part the next day, we skied over to Italy. It was so cool to say I skied in two countries in one day, but that’s about all the bragging I can do because I a) hurt my knee with my terrible, out of practice form; b) let the steepness of essentially every slope freak me out; and c) at one point let the two come together and actually cried. On the mountain. Somewhere between Switzerland and Italy.

Untitled picture5

[The view from our quick stop in Italy]

It really was a nice trip, though, and it made me want to get good at skiing again. So, next time – if there is a next time – I’ve decided I will take a lesson and see what happens!

Next stop: Milan

2 thoughts on “Easter Weekend in Zermatt

Leave a Reply

