Live From Boston

We are strong, and we push forward, but we will never forget.

Tonight is my chapter’s very first philanthropy event–KATurday Night Live. It is supposed to be a happy night, full of laughter and jokes. We are all rocking our adorable pocket tees and beyond excited to show this campus what Theta is all about. But it’s hard.

It’s hard to promote a happy event when the events of this past weekend are still on everybody’s minds. It’s hard to be pushing Theta, trying to build our reputation, when people are still in shock. It’s hard to try to capture the attention of hundreds of people on campus when they’re just completely spaced out. I’m completely spaced out. Underneath the smile and the “Come to KATurday Night Live” announcement I’ve been making all day, I’m still terrified and confused.

But we have to do this. We have to move on. We will mourn the losses of the three who passed away this weekend. We will raise money for and help out the other victims in any way we can. All I’ve heard since Monday is “How can I help? What can I do?” That is the spirit of Boston, and I’m so happy to be right in the middle of it.

So I will be at KATurday Night Live tonight. I will laugh, maybe even cry. I’ll take videos and pictures and post them all over facebook. I’ll hang out with my sisters, give them all a big hug, and just be grateful that I’m here, that I’m among the fortunate. And, at the end of the night, I’ll be proud of our two checks–one to CASA Boston and one to the victims of the Boston Marathon Explosions.

Boston is strong. Thetas are strong. I am strong.

Leave a Reply

